Your Photograph Seems All That I Have Left

How still you be so beautiful,
through a life that’s falling away
Pictures only take from us what we gave yesterday
Memories like a jigsaw, losing pieces one by one
I fear that you’ll forget me when these images have gone

How still you be so beautiful now that I have nothing left
Pictures slowly fading, alongside my heart that you kept
Memories I do nurture with the hope time slows the fade
Once was life in colour now seems grey of every shade

Still you are so beautiful, as I pick you from the floor
Vision obscured by tears as it is you that I adore
Thoughts are all you’ve left me with
as unpack this bag I do
What once was ever so comforting, no longer smells of you

Heaven do you not realise
that you are placed within my chest?
Just as I envisioned, that you too have nothing left
So from my heart I wander in search of you, so far away
Heaven you can reach me, when in her heart, I do stay.

Now I feel alone.

One Response to “Your Photograph Seems All That I Have Left”

  1. […] Your Photograph Seems All That I Have Left. […]

Leave a Reply

